Summer Hiatus

Dearest Friends, I dropped off the face of the planet but have now returned.

Summer is my favorite season, by far. Grill outs, pool days, margarita’s, and heat are things that I favor greatly. Unfortunately, these activities pair oddly with crafting and blogging. Now that “Summer Vacation” is over and September is fast approaching, I plan to return to my crafting ways. Please forgive me if the majority of my crafts are wedding related, as I am planning to be a DIY bride. I have a little over one year to plan (our date is set for 10-12-12!).

It has been such a busy summer that I couldn’t possibly put all of it in one blog, so I will just share the highlights of the summer by month.

June:

We vacationed in Charleston and attended a wedding in Hilton Head for our dear friends (who are now pregnant!). They were married under a big, leafy tree surrounded by their closest family and friends. It was a very beautiful and intimate ceremony.

The wedding party and their dates

July:

I taught a fashion design class at 7 Hills Middle school! It was a really amazing opportunity and I had so much fun doing it. The girls designed a mini collection inspired by a country of their choice and made collection boards with their drawings. They also made their own mini drawstring skirts. I was so pleased that every girl in the class walked away with a finished skirt. I was so proud and impressed with the girls. We took lots of pictures and I hope to post them all soon! Here are a few to hold you over. They all did an amazing job!

Vogue-ing it!

Check out that flower!

August:

Brandon and I traveled to Chicago to become Godparents to little Katelyn, Brandon’s cousin’s daughter. I had so much fun with all three kids, Little George, Ally, and Katelyn. I might be biased, but I think these three are the most adorable kiddos ever. How precious is little Katey?

Happy Godparents!

I made pizza from scratch for the first time ever and it actually tasted delicious!

Turkey Sausage with Orange Peppers and Hand-cut Pepperoni

YUM!

Jimmy Buffet rolled into town on the 23rd and we attended the tailgating festivities for the 5th year in a row. The event is ridiculous but more fun than nearly every concert I have ever been to. I am not sure if it is the island feel, bright colors, or freely flowing booze that makes it so special, or the people. Jimmy Buffet fans are fun and friendly. And a little crazy.

Parrotheads!

Brian, who we always visit in Charleston on vacation, has officially moved back to Ohio. We are so happy to hang out with him all the time now, but now we have to pay for a hotel when we visit Charleston. It’s bittersweet. But he has a boat and we sped along the Ohio river this past weekend. The weather was incredible.

In between all of these events we grilled out with friends, attended church festivals to gamble, looked at wedding venues, and attended bridal shows. I am pooped! As much as I love the hot weather and all the Summer fun, I am looking forward to Fall. Despite the changes to the Bengals lineup, I am totally stoked for tailgating season. I am also craving the delights of the Fall bounty – apple cider, pumpkin beer, crock pot green beans, chili, and red wine. I couldn’t wait for the green beans… so I made them for Sunday dinner!

Chop, Chop!

Greenie Beanies!

Cornbread mixing!

That’s all I got for now. Have a great week, friends!

6 comments

  1. angela cramer · August 29, 2011

    Loves it!!!

  2. a girl named Charleyng · August 29, 2011

    By the way, the beans turned out AWESOME!

  3. CatoFam · September 8, 2011

    Sounds like you had a fun-filled summer. I can’t wait to see your wedding craft ideas. 🙂

  4. Erica Burton · September 8, 2011

    Hey Charley,

    We are looking at wedding venues in Charleston. I am curious where your friend got married? I have been looking at a lot of places with “beautiful trees” for the ceremony… I would love to know the place, if she liked it, dislikes, etc….

    Decisions, decisions…. I sure do love suggestions to help with these. 🙂

    P.S. I love the blog.

    • a girl named Charley · September 8, 2011

      Our friend was married in Hilton Head on a golf resort. I will have to check on the name. It was BEAUTIFUL! Charleston is amazing, too! I have a friend who lived there for a long time. I will see if he knows anywhere!

      • Erica Burton · September 9, 2011

        Awesome thanks. I am sure have already researched it then if it was in HH or Charleston b/c those are the 2 locations that we are looking at. We are going to visit multiple resorts next month. I have been stuck to my computer for 5 days straight..I feel like I have seen the whole state of SC now. ha ha..

        I would still be interested to know how they liked/disliked it and what they would do different for that location. Thanks so much. I appreciate it. Feel free to just shoot me a message on FB or an email. My email is: ericaaburton@gmail.com
        Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

