Disaster!

Clearly I need loads more practice before attempting to do another dress pattern. Or Simplicity needs to have better diagrams and drawings in their pattern instructions. Before I go further I must explain that this blog serves two purposes for me:

1. To force me to keep up with sewing/pattern-making/creativity in my off time. You have to stay fresh (and usually I love doing these things anyway)

2. To share my successes and struggles with the friends and family who support me. In the beginning, this blog was created because of a contest but it has become much more than that to me. It is forcing me to practice. to be patient, and to be persistent.

I am attempting 2443 which is a Cynthia Rowley pattern. I have no idea what level the dress is, but it has pockets, lots of curves, an invisible zipper, and a million gathers. Everything started out great until pocket met invisible zipper. They didn’t quite see eye to eye, so they are not perfectly in line. Luckily the gathered waistband hides this small issue, so I continued on….

….and got completely lost when it came time to sew up the straps. The directions and pictures do  not make any sense to me so I did the best I could. Which wasn’t very good. So now I know what I need to do to fix the problem, but this involves ripping out a lot of seams. The boyfriend refuses to learn how to do this, so I have to do it. I hate ripping out seams. It makes me feel like such a failure.

Looks like I am going to have to get back to this dress after my work trip this week. Hopefully I will be refreshed. I am pretty stinkin’ angry at myself right now. I knew I should have made a muslin of this dress first but I was overly confident. As usual.

So here is the new game plan. I am going to finish this messy dress and then remake it. In a bright, sunny, fun color and it will be perfect.

Thanks friends for hanging in there with me. I appreciate you!

Leave a Reply

