Nip and Tuck

It took me the better part of the day, but I have made significant process! I said I would do it, and I did it!

Here is the “before” shot of the coat. The model is my lovely boyfriend. He wasn’t too thrilled about being in the photos considering this is a woman’s coat. I am very lucky that he puts up with me and my odd requests.

"Valley Thrift" Navy Wool Coat

Below is a shot of the inside of the coat with the lining removed. There was a stiff interlining, foam shoulder pads for shaping, and a lot of hand-stitching that needed to go. I was not gentle as I stripped this coat of its innards. It was rather violent. I was heavily influenced by what my boyfriend was watching on TV while I worked. It was Season 6 of “Nip/Tuck.” Appropriate I think, since I am “transforming” this coat into a computer bag.

Lining Removed

The Coat Innards

By the way, has anyone watched that show? I think I am going to have nightmares. I think I need to watch a Disney movie or a romantic comedy to clear my head.

I decided to use the lining from the coat to line the bag. The original bag does not have a liner, but I am afraid that the wool felt of this coat will fray at the edges if not finished properly. I think it will still be a close resemblance. If all goes well, I should finish this guy by the end of the week!

Pattern Pieces Complete

I am already noodling the next project, but if you have any ideas or have seen anything you would like to see me make, let me know! I am open to suggestions! Have a great week, friends!

2 comments

  1. jessy · January 28, 2011

    You know, as much as I love to sew and alter things, I am still totally afraid of my sewing machine (I always did all my sewing by hand) and patterns (they just seem scary) so I may have to get you to teach me a thing or two! I love your finished product too! 🙂

    • a girl named Charley · January 28, 2011

      Thank you!

      My sewing machine has a split personality, I understand your fear!

      I am totally impressed that you do all hand sewing on your projects. I bet you are super fast at it! I think I could learn a lot from YOU! 🙂

Leave a Reply

