Arm Candy

It’s time to start my next project! This time I want to do a cool unisex bag to tote my blogging gear in while traveling around town. I plan to purchase fabric and as many trims as possible from local thrift and vintage stores to save money and the environment. Please leave a comment on my blog or on facebook letting me know which bag is your favorite , why you prefer it over the others, and what you do at home to help save the environment! I don’t mind if you just separate your cans and put them in that lovable green recycle bin. Every little bit counts!

Pick and Choose

This is going to take me a bit longer than the necklace. I haven’t sewn anything more intricate than a pant hem since graduation (2008, yikes!), so forgive me. I have a few fun posts planned for you while I create my next masterpiece. Go ahead and subscribe to the blog or bookmark me!

You can find the bags above at the following websites: “Bee” Tote by Matt Shallenberg; Merino Sleeve by packandsmooch; Faux Fur Backpack by Ecote; Wayfarer Pack by LAYERxlayer


12 comments

  1. Adam · November 12, 2010

    I am usually a messenger bag kinda guy but #2 is rocking my socks off. If I had an iPad I would pay you cash money to make that for me. I don’t go out of the way to do environmentally friendly things, but I don’t run around spraying aerosol cans either. I will let you know when I buy the 40mpg Ford Fiesta.

    • a girl named Charley · November 13, 2010

      I don’t have an iPad either. I am going to make this to fit my trusted laptop! Oh how I love my Toshiba! 🙂

  2. Susie · November 13, 2010

    hmm…i think you can guess that #2 would be my pick, classic and safe lol but I do feel for #3, only because I can’t resist the touch of fur! 😉

    • a girl named Charley · November 13, 2010

      Well I will put you down for #2. Hopefully I get some more comments or else #2 is going to be the unanimous winner!

  3. ellen · November 13, 2010

    i think #3 it would be cute for the season

    • Kristin · November 15, 2010

      I totally like #2. It can go with anything. We’ve been really conscious of environmental issues since moving to CA. One example is to use tote bags for every purchase instead of getting plastic bags at the store. Have fun with your project!

  4. Michelle · November 14, 2010

    i vote #1!

  5. Pam · November 15, 2010

    Voting for #4…I would be able to put more stuff in it… 🙂

  6. Tia · November 15, 2010

    I like #2!!! I think it is chic!! I need to remember to take a tote to the grocery store so I am not using all those plastic bags!!

  7. Lindsey · November 15, 2010

    I vote #2. I think it’s classic and very cute!

  8. Brittney · November 15, 2010

    Personally I like number 4. I think it would match everything and I just really love gray bags…plus it would fit for than number two, which is also very cute…

  9. Brandon · November 15, 2010

    I say #3. It’s dope. #2 is cool, but a little to plain.

Leave a Reply

