Eye Candy Complete

We have a winner! Thank you to everyone who took the time to comment! It was a total last-minute Facebook takeover and necklace #1 destroyed the competition.

The winner, “Tender Kindness” by Elva Fields, is truly gorgeous. Here are some close-up shots from the website.

Detail Images

Please note that this designer used a vintage brooch and pair of earrings for her stunner of a necklace. Luckily, I recently purchased a matching necklace and earrings set from a local thrift store (for a whole dollar) that was perfect for this project. It’s like you read my mind and knew I had the most important part of this necklace already in my arsenal. I bet it’s because you know me so well, loves. You know me so well.

Charm & Earrings for $1.00

The original necklace retails for $192.00 and I completely understand why. Beads can be as expensive as they are beautiful. Just ask Makayla Burck, the very understanding and patient woman who helped me over at A World of Beads in Hyde Park, Cincinnati. I walked into the store, thinking I knew it all. I definitely did not. I got a crash course in bead-making and bead pricing.

I searched the store from top to bottom with my trusty helper and found these pieces for my project.

My Beads

Beads

 

 

Chain and Clasp

Makayla showed me how to attach chain link to the clasp with some special bead making tools that look like something out of Dad’s toolbox. Then she showed me how to create the tail of the clasp using some truly beautiful beads and some wire. This is a skill I learned you must practice. Makayla is a total pro.

I couldn’t quite afford to create a clasp that was identical to Elva’s, but Makayla was ready with plenty of suggestions on how to create something similar on a more economical budget. Although mine is simpler, I think it is still just as beautiful.

After the quick in-store lesson, I left World of Beads to complete my project at home. I would have sat in the shop all day with the inspiring and sweet Makayla, but I am aware that most people can only handle me for so long. So off I went to create my masterpiece in solitude.

Step one was threading the string through the last link of chain and securing it with a small bead called a “crimper.” It is a small seed bead that you actually smash to secure the string. I then threaded my beads and attached the end of the sting to the chain link on the other side of the necklace clasp. Easy enough.

Stringing The Beads

Attaching the flowers was a little more difficult. I had to use pliers to manipulate the post of the earrings into loops that I could thread through the string. I was positive that I was going to pull the posts right out of the earrings and the project would be ruined, but by some freak of nature I managed to get it right.

From Earring To Necklace Charm

I threaded my flowers onto the necklace, threaded the remaining beads to the last string, and tried on my new necklace. It wasn’t ready. The flowers needed to be better secured to the necklace to keep fromdrooping. I went nuts with some wire, secured those bad boys, and marveled at my beautiful creation.

Wire Added To Hold Flower In Place

Here is the final product next to its source of inspiration.

Mine Vs. Elva's

Instead of paying $192.00 for the Elva Fields necklace, I created my own for a little under $80.00.

I know I shouldn’t toot my own horn, but…

TOOT! TOOT!

Tell me what you think!

Oh, and don’t forget to check back in a few days. I want to show you a few awesome things over at A World of Beads that I think you will really love!

5 comments

  1. Susie · November 8, 2010

    amazing! I actually like yours better then the expensive one! lol

    • a girl named Charley · November 8, 2010

      Thanks Lady! I had a blast making it. I don’t know if I should attempt to make another one or try a different accessory next. Maybe a purse? I have a wedding coming up. Should I attempt a dress?

  2. Lindsey · November 8, 2010

    I love it! I agree with Susie, I like your’s better. It’s beautiful!

  3. Tara · November 8, 2010

    It’s beautiful charley!! Yours turned out much better!

  4. ellen · November 9, 2010

    i like both because they are so similiar obviously, but i like the color contrast of the one you made better 🙂 good job! can’t wait to vote on your next project!

Leave a Reply

